FREE 8th Street String Quartet Concerts September 9-11!

Join us for four FREE 8th Street String Quartet Concerts!

Thursday, September 9 at 7 p.m.
Historic Holmes Theatre in Detroit Lakes

Friday, September 10 at 7 p.m.
Fosston Library Theatre

Saturday, September 11 at 3:30 p.m.
Prairie Church in the Historic Prairie Village in Ada

Saturday, September 11 at 7 p.m.

Kiehle Auditorium at the U of M, Crookston

The 8th Street String Quartet is the “all-star” ensemble of the principal string chairs of the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra: Concertmaster Benjamin Sung and Assistant Concertmaster Jane Linde Capistran, violin; Tim Nelson, Principal Viola, and Elise Buffat Nelson, Principal Cello. The quartet, formed in 2008, performs a wide variety of repertoire that ranges from masterpieces of the Classical and Romantic periods to cutting-edge contemporary works.

Ben Sung, who received his doctoral degree from Indiana University, is a faculty member at Minnesota State University Moorhead and North Dakota State University, and also serves as Artistic Director of the Cheryl Nelson Lossett Performing Arts Series at MSUM.

Jane Linde Capistran is and Assistant Professor at Concordia College, serving as conductor of the Concordia College Symphonia, instructor of violin and viola studio lessons and also a superviser of the string music education majors. Jane also is Music Director of the Fargo-Moorhead Area Senior High Youth Symphony.

Tim Nelson is Director of Orchestras a Fargo South High School, is also Adjunct Professor of Viola at Minnesota State University Moorhead. Tim earned his Master of Music degree in Viola from The Juilliard School. He has performed in orchestras throughout Arkansas, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Elise Buffat Nelson is Adjunct Professor of Music at Minnesota State University Moorhead, and also has developed an extensive private cello studio. She has performed in orchestras throughout the Midwest, and also performs with the Fargo-Moorhead Opera orchestra.

Programming is supported in part or in whole with money from the Minnesota Arts & Cultural Heritage fund.