skip to Main Content

Discover something new! Check out the books, movies and more that LARL staff are recommending.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Sotto

If there were one fantasy book I'd choose over all the others out there, it…

read more

Iditarod Reading Recommendations

Here at LARL, we have the Iditarod on our minds. The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race…

read more

Always Look on the Bright Side of Life: A Sortabiography by Eric Idle

Eric Idle charms the audience in the audiobook version of his biography, Always Look on…

read more

My Heart by Corinna Luyken

My Heart by Corinna Luyken is a heartfelt, beautifully illustrated children's book.  Read this if you…

read more

Full Wolf Moon by Lincoln Child

An atmospheric thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton, Full Wolf Moon is a quick, fun…

read more

Beartown by Fredrik Backman

Knock me over with a hockey stick, this book was stellar and unbelievably addicting!  Beartown benefits most…

read more

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe by Madeline Miller is a retold myth with all the action and betrayals you love…

read more

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

For fans of The Wedding Date movie and meet-cute, feel-good romances, read Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient!  This book…

read more

Staff Picks: Cozy Winter Reads

Are you looking for a cozy winter read as we head into the holidays? Look…

read more

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Fans of true crime podcasts and mysteries prepare to be sucked into Sadie's world. Sadie's…

read more

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

A twisty thriller partially set in Minnesota! Mia goes home with Colin expecting a romantic…

read more

Providence by Caroline Kepnes

Jon and Chloe are forever at a crossroads of poor timing. Their near meetings left…

read more

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

I Capture the Castle is quintessentially English and ever so delightful. So cuddle up in…

read more

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton

Who could say “neigh” to a book about a tubby pony and his warrior princess? …

read more

My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan

Don't let the cover fool you, this is one of the most serious and heart-wrenching…

read more

Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

All you need are two words to describe this book -- Gothic Western.  It's such…

read more

Vox by Christina Dalcher

Set in a modern dystopia, Vox by Christina Dalcher draws out the question: What if women were…

read more

101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up

"This book is a great guide for what to read with your kids or recommend…

read more

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

"This space opera is the most positive and hopeful book I've read in a long…

read more

Lethal White by Robert Galbraith

"Lethal White" is now my favorite title of the Cormoran Strike mystery series, written by…

read more

The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce

"I enjoyed this tribute to the healing power of music. It's a quirky love story…

read more

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

"Think you're not a fan of romance or chick-lit? Let this fizzy book change your…

read more
Back To Top